How to read neetu singh english book volume 1 for SSC CGL 2022

The SSC-CGL exam stands for Staff Selection Commission- Combined Graduate Level examinations. Candidates who clear the SSC-CGL exams are hired by different ministries and subordinate offices for Group B and Group C positions. Candidates appearing for SSC-CGL examinations must know the syllabus and meet the Eligibility criteria to appear for the SSC-CGL exams. Keep reading t learn more about both of these.

How to read neetu singh english book volume 1 for SSC CGL 2022

What is the English Syllabus for SSC-CGL Examinations?

The English syllabus of SSC-CGL can be divided into the following:

Tier 1

The first tier for SSC-CGL exams is computer-based. The pattern for the examination is MCQ. The candidates have to choose the right answers from the options corresponding to each question. There are 0.25 negative points for each wrong answer.

The syllabus in Tier 1 for English is as follows:

  • Idioms and Phrases
  • One-word Substitution
  • Sentence Correction
  • Error Spotting
  • Fill in the Blanks
  • Spellings Correction
  • Reading Comprehension
  • Synonyms-Antonyms
  • Active-Passive
  • Sentence Rearrangement
  • Sentence Improvement

The duration of the Tier 1 examination is 60 minutes (80 minutes for candidates with a scribe). There are 25 questions for each topic, and the maximum mark allotted for each topic is 50.

Tier 2

The second tier for SSC-CGL exams is computer-based and aptitude based. The pattern for examination is objective-based with MCQ and aptitude questions also. There are three papers in this stage. Each of them has a separate syllabus.

  1. The exam for Paper I is conducted in two sessions.
  1. Session 1

In this session, the candidates have to answer MCQ questions. The questions are divided into Section I, Section II, and Section III. These sections are further divided into Modules 1 and 2 each. Module 2 for Section III is conducted separately. The session duration is 2 hours and 15 minutes.

Section 1

Module 1 Mathematical Abilities
Module 2 Reasoning and General Intelligence

There are a total of 60 questions. The total marks for both modules are 180.

Section 2

Module 1 English Language and Comprehension
Module 2 General Awareness

There are 70 questions. The total marks for both modules are 210. The syllabus for Module 1 English in Section II is as follows:

  • Vocabulary
  • Grammar
  • Sentence Construction
  • Active/Passive Voice
  • Spot the Error
  • Synonyms/Homonyms
  • Antonyms
  • Idioms and Phrases
  • One Word Substitution
  • Shuffling of Sentence Parts
  • Shuffling of Sentences in Passage
  • Cloze Passage
  • Comprehension Test

Section 3

Module 1 Computer Knowledge Module

15 minutes are allotted for the test.

  1. Session 2

Session 2 has the continuation of Section III. Module 2, Data Entry Speed Test Module, is conducted practically. The duration of this session is only 15 minutes.

  1. Paper II includes questions on statistics. The duration of this paper is 2 hours. There are 100 questions carrying 2 marks each.
  2. Paper III contains questions on General Studies (Finance and Economics). This paper's duration and marking scheme are the same as paper II's.

How to Read Neetu Singh English Book Volume 1?

English is one of the major subjects in the SSC-CGL syllabus. The ideal book to prepare for English for the SSC-CGL examination is Neetu Singh English Book Volume 1. The book has all the information about English and is well-explained. It will also help you to use the right words and sentences to answer. Here are some steps to read Neetu Singh's English Book Volume 1:

  1. Start with Grammar

Begin with studying the concepts of grammar in English. Cover the concepts with each detail. Starting with grammar early will help you to frame correct sentences. It will also help you understand the use of the right words for better answers.

  1. Practice Vocabulary

Vocabulary is a vast portion to complete. However, it can be mastered with proper planning. Make it a habit to study a certain portion of vocabulary each day. Aim to learn 10 to 15 words daily. This will help complete the vocabulary portion at an effective pace.

  1. Solve Questions Every Day

Neetu Singh English Book Volume 1 has all the sample and practice questions to try out. Make it a habit to practice 5 to 10 questions daily. It will help you to get a conceptual understanding and clarity about it. Solving the questions will also help you to apply the topics for differently asked questions.

  1. Learn the Rules

While English might be more application-based, certain parts have rules too. These rules pertain to grammar topics, tenses, and others. Learning the rules will make it easy for you to identify the answers to different questions.


Preparation for English papers for SSC-CGL can be nerve-wracking. The article provides a brief on the English syllabus for SSC-CGL. It has mentioned the criteria to appear for SSC-CGL examinations.

This article has all the tips for studying Neetu Singh English Book Volume 1. For more content, visit the Physicswallah website today!

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q1. What is the SSC-CGL examination?

Ans. The SSC-CGL examination is held by the Government of India. The examination is to provide government jobs to graduate candidates. The examination offers job opportunities in governmental departments and ministerial and subordinate offices.

Q2. What is the eligibility for SSC-CGL candidates?

Ans. The eligibility for SSC-CGL candidates are-

  • The candidate should be an Indian or belong to Nepal or Bhutan.
  • The age limit for the candidates to give the SSC-CGL exam is between 18 and 32 years old.
  • The minimum qualification required for the SSC-CGL examination is a Bachelor’s degree in any subject.
  • The candidate should receive their degree from any recognized University/Institution.
  • The candidates should have studied Maths/Economics/Statistics as a compulsory or major subject.
  • The candidates applying for the SSC-CGL examination should be physically sound.

Q3. What are the two stages of the SSC-CGL examination?

Ans. The two stages of the SSC-CGL exam are-

Tier 1: Computer-based exam with MCQ pattern.

Tier 2: Computer-based and aptitude-based exams.

Q4. What is the purpose of SSC-CGL examinations?

Ans. The purpose of SSC-CGL examinations is to provide government jobs to graduates. These governmental jobs include at the central and state level.

Q5. Can I apply for SSC-CGL after finishing school?

Ans. No, for being eligible for SSC-CGL, the minimum educational qualification required is graduation. Graduation must be from any of the recognized institutions.

Talk to Our counsellor