Best Answer

The Lewis theory gave the first explanation of a covalent bond in terms of electrons that was generally accepted. If two electrons are shared between two atoms, this constitutes a bond and binds the atoms together. For many light atoms, a stable arrangement is attained when the atom is surrounded by eight electrons.

The octet can be made up from some electrons which are totally owned and some electrons which are ‘shared’. Thus atoms continue to form bonds until they have made up an octet of electrons. This is called the ‘octet rule’. The octet rule explains the observed valences in a large number of cases. There are exceptions to the octet rule; for example, hydrogen is stable with only two electrons. 

The conventional Lewis structure representation of a pair of bonded electrons is by means of a ‘dash’ (-) usually called a ‘bond’. Lone pairs or ‘non-bonded’ electrons are represented by ‘dots’. Some structures are represented below:



Talk to Our counsellor