. Name the three major divisions of the Himalayas from north to south

Best Answer


  • The Himalayas consists of three parallel ranges namely the Great or Inner Himalayas or the Himadri, Himachal or Lesser Himalaya, and the outermost range Shiwalik.
  • Great or Inner Himalayas or the Himadri is the northernmost range of the Himalayas.It is a continuous range consisting

of the loftiest peaks with an average height of 6000 meters. Himachal or the lesser Himalayas range lying to the south of himadri. This region is well known for the hills station.

  • Shiwalik is the outermost range of the Himalayas which is composed of unconsolidated sediments brought down by the rivers.


Final Answer:

The Himalayas is mainly divided into three ranges namely The Great or Inner Himalayas or Himadri, Himachal or lesser Himalaya, and the Shiwalik.

Talk to Our counsellor