. What are the main physical divisions of India

Best Answer

Ans. India lies largely on the northern portion of the Indo-Australian Plate, also known as the Indian Plate, whose international crust forms the major physical divisions of the Indian continent. India is consequently divided astronomically into five physical units

1. The Great Mountains of the north - The great peaks of the North Starting from the Pamir Plateau in the west to the Indo-Myanmar border in the east, a chain of mountains stretch uninterruptedly for about km in the shape of an bow. The mountains which drag between the Pamir table and the Indus River in Kashmir are known to be as the Karakoram. The Karakoram contains a many of the world’s largest mountain glaciers, for illustration, Baltoro and the Siachen. The world’s alternate-loftiest peak K2 (Godwin Austin) belongs to this mountain range. The mountains between the Indus and the Brahmaputra Rivers are called the Himalayas. The Himalayas correspond of three resemblant ranges called the Himadri, Himachal, and Shivalik. Some narrow denes called ‘claims’ are plant in this part. The northernmost range of the Himalaya is known as the Himadri, Mt. Everest (m) in Nepal is the world’s loftiest peak which belongs to this range.

2. The north Indian plain - The north Indian plain to the south of the mountains of the north, there's a vast plain that extends over 2500 km roughly from the Sutlej in the west to the Brahmaputra in the east. It's made up of the topsoil chalet by the Indus, the Ganga and the Brahmaputra along with their feeders.

3. The Peninsular Plateau - The Peninsular Plateau To the south of the north Indian straight, the peninsular table lays. It's formed by igneous and metamorphic jewels. It's the oldest land in India. Hills (heights with lower mound and rounded covers) are seen in this region. The peninsular table is subdivided into the central mounds of India and the Deccan table.

4. The coastal plains - The Coastal plains The Deccan table is bounded by littoral plains on both sides. The western littoral plain is widest in the north. It's gradationally narrowed down towards the south. The seacoast lying to the south of Gujarat is known as the Konkan. The south-western part of the seacoast is known as the Malabar. The eastern littoral plain is comparatively more leveled than the western seacoast. The northern part of the seacoast is generally known as northern Circar and the southern part is the Coromandel seacoast.

5. The Islands - The Islands To the west of the seacoast of Kerala, there exists a cluster of small islets. They're inclusively known as the Lakshadweep. A bigger cluster known as the Andaman and Nicobar islets is located in the Bay of Bengal.

Talk to Our counsellor