States of India, their Capitals Languages and Formation Detail

Sep 23, 2022, 16:45 IST

The Republic of India is the seventh-largest country globally and has the second-largest population globally. As the largest democracy and the oldest civilization globally, India has a vibrant history and unique cultural heritage.

India is an Asian continent and borders along with Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma, China, Nepal, and Pakistan. It is unique throughout Asia, named seas and mountains, giving the country a unique geographical location. It is surrounded by the Greatest Himalayas in the north, stretching south to the Tropic of Cancer, it extends into the Indian Ocean between the Bay of Bengal to the east and the Arabian Sea to the west.

State of India

What makes India genuinely unique is its ‘unity in diversity. It allows for a wide range of languages, religions, and cultures. India is a union of 28 provinces and capitals and territories of 8 unions. Each region and the regional union have administrative, legal, and judicial capital.

The States and Capitals of India 2022 are one of the necessary topics in the SSC and Railway exam competitions. These tests include a General Information section where students' knowledge of daily activities or events worldwide is assessed. It is one of the most scoring subjects for which candidates can try to ask many questions in a short amount of time. Every year, this section contains questions about the provinces of India, including their titles, languages, dates of formation, population, etc. Therefore, candidates must know and memorize the 28 Indian sections and their titles and languages—your preparation for the SSC 2022 exam. The list of all the countries in the world will also help you with your examinations.

States and their capitals

States Name Capital Founded on Official Languages
Andhra Pradesh Amaravati 1 Nov. 1956 Telugu
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 20 Feb. 1987 English
Assam Dispur 26 Jan. 1950 Assamese
Bihar Patna 22 Mar. 1912 Hindi
Chhattisgarh Raipur 1 Nov. 2000 Chhattisgarhi
Goa Panaji 30 May. 1987 Konkani
Gujarat Gandhinagar 1 May. 1960 Gujarati
Haryana Chandigarh 1 Nov. 1966 Hindi
Himachal Pradesh Shimla 25 Jan. 1971 Hindi
Jharkhand Ranchi 15 Nov. 2000 Hindi
Karnataka Bengaluru 1 Nov. 1956 Kannada
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram 1 Nov. 1956 Malayalam
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 1 Nov. 1956 Hindi
Maharashtra Mumbai 1 May. 1960 Marathi
Manipur Imphal 21 Jan. 1972 Meiteilon (Manipuri)
Meghalaya Shillong 21 Jan. 1972 Garo, Khasi, Pnar & English
Mizoram Aizawl 20 Feb. 1987 Mizo
Nagaland Kohima 1 Dec. 1963 English
Odisha Bhubaneswar 26 Jan. 1950 Odia
Punjab Chandigarh 1 Nov. 1966 Punjabi
Rajasthan Jaipur 1 Nov. 1956 Hindi
Sikkim Gangtok 16 May. 1975 Nepali
Tamil Nadu Chennai 26 Jan. 1950 Tamil
Telangana Hyderabad 2 Jun. 2014 Telugu
Tripura Agartala 21 Jan. 1972 Bengali & Kokborok
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 26 Jan. 1950 Hindi
Uttarakhand Dehradun 9 Nov. 2000 Hindi
West Bengal Kolkata 1 Nov. 1956 Bengali

Also check: List of Neighbouring Countries of India

Indian Union Territories and Capitals

Union territories of India Union Territories and their Capitals Population (2022 Estimates)
Delhi New Delhi 3.5 crores
Puducherry Pondicherry 15.71 Lakhs
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 4 Lakhs
Lakshadweep Kavaratti 68000
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman 10.77 Lakhs
Chandigarh Chandigarh 10,55,450
Ladakh Leh 2.97 Lakhs
Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (Summer), Jammu (Winter) 1.34 Crores


Talk to Our counsellor