Exam Pattern
Class Section No. of Questions Marks per Question Total Marks
Class X or lower as of November  2019 Mathematics 20 3 60
Physics 20 3 60
Chemistry 20 3 60
Biology 20 3 60
Grand total 80   240

The IJSO exam pattern follows the following 5 stages:
Stage I: National Standard Examination in Junior Science (NSEJS)

NSEJS is the first stage of selection of students in the Junior Science Olympiad Program. NSEJS is organized by the Indian Association of Physics Teachers (IAPT). The top 300 qualify for the next round.

Stage II: Indian National Junior Science Olympiad (INJSO)

INJSO will be organized by HBCSE at about 15 centers in the country.  Syllabus is similar to NSEJS and top 35 will qualify for the next round.

Stage III: Orientation cum Selection Camp (OCSC) in Junior Science

OCSC in Junior Science will be organized by HBCSE for 2-3 weeks. Only the students selected from the merit list of Stage II (INJSO) are eligible. There will be no other criteria or provision.
The camps include several theoretical and experimental tests.

Stage IV: Pre-departure Training Camp (PDT) for IJSO

The selected 6-member student team will undergo a rigorous training program at HBCSE in theory and experiment. Top 6 students in the merit list are special merit awardees, who will be given Rs.5000 worth of books and cash.

Stage V: Participation in International Junior Science Olympiad (IJSO)

The 12 student member team (two six member teams) and 3 teacher leaders will constitute the delegation to represent India at the International Junior Science Olympiad (IJSO).

Talk to Our counsellor